Having A Ball

I’m bouncing as I write this.  Literally.

Two years ago-ish, I had a “frozen shoulder,” which required visits to a very mean doc (whom I don’t visit anymore), and three months of “immediate” physical therapy.  I also purchased a yoga ball and other small items to help with my home efforts on the therapy front.

Physically, it was painful.  While the therapy was helpful, it was the constant work at home that I think really made a difference in my getting my shoulder back in working order quickly.  I would not have known what to do and what not to do if I had not gone to PT, that’s for sure, so it was mostly a good decision.  But financially, it was painful, too.  It was very expensive, which prices they would not disclose, saying my insurance would cover it.  I stopped the twice a week visits to Uber Expensive PT when I got the first shocking bill three months in, and paid off the thousands I owed (that was after my insurance coverage).  Meanwhile, I used the equipment I had to continue to work out both shoulders.

After the yoga ball had served its purpose, it sat in the corner of my room, all alone, getting dusted occasionally. When my folding desk chair broke again recently, the duct tape solution was pretty much worn out, and I needed another idea.  The yoga ball to the rescue!!

I’ve read over the years that sitting on one results in a good core workout, and can help posture.  I could use both of those assists.  The ball is now my new chair, and I can attest that balancing on it does provide a good core workout and does help my posture.  Another bonus is that because it is more of an effort to sit here at my desk, I sit here less often.  I’m up and moving, doing other things that need doing.  The ball doesn’t fold up, and certainly doesn’t fit my decor.  It is an awesome solution, though, and I’m keeping it.

The yoga ball I have is from Target two years ago and was on sale.  I’ve been told any yoga ball will do (mine is just the right height), and it should be inflated with an enclosed pump according to directions included with the ball.

DS#2 was not helpful in my thought process for this solution.  When I told him my idea, he said with genuine concern, “I hope you don’t pop it.”  Great.  For the record, it has not popped.

I’m so happy when a solution works out so well.  This might mean I look into exercise yoga.

How have you repurposed lately?

 

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

