The Ninja Maker

 

This is not a sponsored post.  This review is based on my own experience with this purchase.

I’m proud to say that my eating habits have improved quite a bit in the last 5 months.  Good news: I’ve been able to adjust my eating this whole time, and now eat a mostly plant-based diet.

So when I decided to combine several gifts recently, I got this:

0124151132a

Oh, yes.  Nutri Ninja Professional. 900 watts of power!  Four super sharp blades.  Appropriate sized containers. Nutrient extraction. I compared, I researched, and this — this is what I chose.  Not just for smoothies (because I just can’t have one every morning for boredom), but for celebratory first-job milkshakes, trial-and-error salad dressings, and even a soup fail experiment, so far.

It cost $99 plus tax at Walmart (Savings Catcher caught me nothing on this, and we only went there because we were returning another gift).  There were several different kinds of machines available at price points fro $59 to $120.  I’d done my homework and knew I wanted this brand, this model, for its features and price.  I’ve had it for 30 days now.

When I brought it home, DS#2 was there to christen it: The Ninja Maker.

TNM replaced a 30-year-old blender.  Since I was only using the huge, old thing for fruit not-so-smoothies, anyway, TNM was a better appliance for me, and the upgrade in function was a good move.  Love, love, love the 900 watts!  This can zip up my morning drink meal in about 15 seconds, and cleans up in a flash.

And I must say, it makes things so very smooth.  I can live without an ice cream headache — the power blending makes it smooth without all the iciness.  Plus, really, it’s freezing outside right now.

TNM takes up little square footage, so I can leave it out on the counter, which reminds me to use the fruit. I love all kinds of berries!  Even though it’s the middle of winter, there is still plenty of fresh and frozen fruit available at good prices.  Did you know that grocery stores will mark down bananas that are still perfectly good, just because the skins turned a little brownish because they got too cold between the truck and the produce department? A couple weeks ago I found containers of fresh blackberries on sale for .99, so I flash froze the berries then popped them into a freezer bag (not as sweet as late July, but still antioxidant rich).  And if all else fails, there are berries available in the freezer section.  Personally, I like to toss in a bit of orange, definitely in season right now, as well as some apple.

I’ve even experimented with tossing in a leaf of kale.  While they say you can’t taste it, I can.  But I also don’t mind it so much.  I’ve made “lunch smoothies” with assorted bits of veggies and tomato (fruit or veg, you decide).  One such concoction was intended to be a soup, heated up afterward, but, ummm, no.  (I may or may not revisit that.  I’m still recovering.)

There are lots and lots of recipes on the Interwebz, and I haven’t found one go-to website that I like. The Nutri Ninja Professional comes with a recipe booklet, but I really don’t have those ingredients on-hand all at the same time for those drinks.  Maybe I’ll get there.  In the meantime, I’m sticking with my usual morning blend:

  • 1/2 – 1 cup frozen berries in whatever variety and measurements I’m in the mood for
  • 1 medium fresh banana, which is so much better than frozen for texture and taste
  • 1 tablespoon ground golden flax seed for Omega 3 and fiber
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk and I prefer Almond Breeze!

Like I said, I change it up a bit with orange, apple, kale, etc.  But this is my base, and this morning it was enough for me.

The milkshake was for #2, to celebrate confirmation of his first job as a camp counselor this summer!  Chocolate, of course, and in short order.  I tasted a teeny sip, and all the ingredients were well mixed without melting from too much blending.

So, does The Ninja Maker make me a Ninja?  The jury’s still out on that, but I feel healthier, the weight is dripping off as hoped, and I have more energy these past few months. I even feel some relief of my osteoarthritis.  This nutrient extractor is, so far, an excellent value, and I look forward to finding out what else it can do.

Do you have a go-to food prep item in your kitchen?  What thing makes your cooking life so much better?

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

