Freezer Bags Revisited

In a past post, I referenced the America’s Test Kitchen freezer bag comparison from some years ago.  That test provided a then-appropriate recommendation for the best conventionally available freezer bags.

Lo and behold, there is a new freezer bag comparison from Cook’s Illustrated (of the same organization that brings us America’s Test Kitchen)!  The previous recommendation wasn’t even tested.  However, the winner is…..well, I’ll let you view the video, complete with explanations of what they tested and why.  Hint: it’s good for frugal supermarket shoppers!

So now I have a new favorite, which is what I’ve been using for a while, anyway.  The winner is my preferred bag!  It truly performs as the video states; however, a recent package did contain three out of 20 bags that split as I opened them to fill them.  Not cool!  (Not sure what I’m going to do about that yet.)  Sale prices – coupons = deals!  Look for holiday printed bags to go on sale about a month after the holiday, and get them dirt cheap.  My freezer doesn’t care that there are penguins on bags in the middle of summer.

And I will continue to recommend double bagging.  I don’t know about you, but some items in my freezer seem to grow fangs and put little teeny tiny holes in my bags.  Even for non-liquids, this is a death sentence by freezer burn.

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

