Thrifty Last Week (9/29/13)

We’ve been trying money-saving ways and sticking with what’s comfortable for us, this week.  Also, while I sold $58+ on eBay, my profit margin is really small with fees and shipping.  I’ve figured out some tricks, and more recent sales = higher profit.  I’m sorting through the garage sale stash and finding high-value items that sell on eBay.

Here are some new things we intentionally did this week to save:

  • Used up the last of the fresh vegs and purchased more on sale, just enough for a week.
  • Inventoried freezers and pantries to help menu plan through the end of October.
  • Spent less than $60 for groceries.
  • Stopped PT visits.  I realize this could be controversial, but I had no choice.  I’ve been working out my shoulder on my own, and it feels pretty good, and range of motion is good, too.  Purchased a yoga ball to do the same exercises, and have other equipment that I use, too.
  • Found lawn work for #2, who is more than happy to earn his own.  With our increased efforts, he’s renewed his, too.
  • Found even more potential rental car discounts = membership discount with 25% off!
  • Accepted a gift of school bus tickets.
  • Found $5 in my jeans pocket!  🙂
  • Used Freecycle to gather shipping supplies.
  • Gleaned some apples from my friend’s tree — delicious, and completely organic!
  • Signed up to do some mystery shops and got my first assignment.

I’m gearing up for another week of thrifty adventures and Cheap Thrills.  Save, save, save!

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

