What Has CT Been Up To: Can I Get A Break, Please?!

Have you missed me?  I’ve missed me.  This has been a rough go.  It could be much worse, I know.  I thank God for our blessings and Daily Bread!  But it has still been rough-ish.  I need a break.  Not a vacation, but a break from the constant assaults on my cortisol level and finances.

In the past month alone, we’ve dealt with physical therapy (my shoulder thing, no big deal, but needs professional attention), repair of our car (surprise), new washing machine (surprise!), and repair of our air conditioning unit (surprise, again!) which is not fully repaired right now.

See the escalating level of urgency and expense?  All these bring along their own levels of stress.  “Now!” kind of stress.  There are non-financial issues I’ve been dealing with, too.

I’ve dealt with unknown-to-me stress from my firstborn graduating, then leaving home for the Army.  And my mother’s passing away.  Then add in a bunch of daily stress from DH’s job, school starting, and whatnot.  Let’s not forget the hormone factor!  (Much thanks to my wonderful friends during this time!)

On the plus side, we’ve got awesome things going for us!  God is on our side, and we have not been lacking for the necessities of life, nor His grace to get us through.  Life is stressful, which is a normal physical response to adversity; however, we are being carried through that.  Can I get an “Amen!?”

Thank goodness for zero percent financing at the Furniture Mart this month!  That’s a blessing right there.  DH got a bonus recently, another blessing, so we are in a better position to handle the financial stuff. My shoulder is so much better already and I’m glad I’m in good hands.

We miss our son an awful lot, even though getting here was difficult (those who know the saga are nodding). But honestly, I do not miss the last-minute schedule changes, meal management issues, or staying up till he gets home.  (He is safe for at least a year between basic training and advanced individualized training, at which time I will deal with it.)  I’m being blessed with calm and courage when I need it most.  Family scheduling is actually more manageable with just three of us.

Other expenses have gone down in the past month: health insurance, car insurance, and groceries (down by 1/3, but will go down further).  So, not so bad that we can’t handle it.  Yet the stress, the physical response, is high.  Real high.  “Don’t mess with me” high.

It’d be nice to catch a break.  Yes, please!  Until then, I’ll be back when I can.

How do YOU handle a string of misfortunes?

4 thoughts on “What Has CT Been Up To: Can I Get A Break, Please?!

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you have been going through a stressful period – as Dave Ramsey says, like ‘Murphy’ moved into your spare bedroom. That felt like our fall last year. Leaking chimney – straight into the basement, lovely. Then a 655.00 plumbing bill in the bathroom. There was something else too which I managed to forget!
    During this time I enjoyed a good book from the library called “Do Less, Achieve More” by Chin-Ning Chu. One bit of wisdom that I liked was that life is like a roller coaster, and when you hit the drops you can either be grateful you are on the ride and enjoy it, or you can cover your eyes and wait for it to be over. I am trying to learn to enjoy the ride and not cover my eyes!

    Like

    • Welcome, HealthfulSaver. Murphy’s got nothin’ on this string. “If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all. Gloom, despair, and agony on me.” Just kidding. I know it’ll get better.

      Like

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

