2012 Menu Planning: 2/17 – 3/2/13

Yeah, I’m back.  Don’t judge.  I’ve been otherwise involved in research and projects.  But anyway!

I became aware of comments, on posts and face to face, recently, which prompt me to detail my menu costs again.  So, this week I’ll do my best, and in the future I’ll try to be accurate.  I’m rounding up slightly.

This week the weather is turning nasty.  Cold, blowy, wet, nasty.  My menu items reflect a little “comfort food,” with two meatless meals, still.  We may have some adjustments, but for now, here’s what’s on our dinner menus this week:

Sunday: Chicken brats (1.49), slaw (cabbage .39/#, 1/2 carrot .04, homemade dressing ~.10), sweet potato fries (FREE).  About $2 for three of us.

Monday:  Leftover frozen beef chili (~$2), leftover rice (.30), shredded cheese (.50).  About $2.85.  Salad for me, .10.

Tuesday:  Broiled tilapia (2.50), frozen veg medley ($1), green salads (.50), rice for the guys (.30).  About $4.50.

Wednesday:  Quiche (crust .75, eggs .26, cheese .50) with leftover veg (counting as free), salads (.50).  About $2.25.

Thursday:  Pork chops for the guys (.99/#), chicken breast for me (.99/#), green cabbage with apples (~.40), carrots (.50).  About $3.

Friday:  Whole wheat spaghetti with marinara (1.35 Target deal), larger green salads (.75).  About $2.25.

Saturday:  Date night out!  Kids’ meals TBD, probably leftovers.

These seven meals for us will cost about $17.50.  That’s much better than I’ve done recently!  I’ve been catching some great produce deals, especially lettuce, and using up some freezer and pantry bargains.  And I’ve been finding deals on chicken and fish.  Look for fish to continue to be on good sale for about a month, along with cheeses.  I’m thinking separate dishes for those. 😉

You’ll note no desserts, as we’re cutting back on sugar in general, and chocolate in particular.  I know!  But guess what?  I feel so much better!  I’m noticing that since I have less sugar in my body at any given time, when I do have even a small amount of sugar-laden treat, I get a headache, severely and suddenly.  Poison.  My body knows what it does and doesn’t need, and I just need to listen to its signals better.

So what’s on YOUR menu?

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday at OrgJunkie.com.

4 thoughts on “2012 Menu Planning: 2/17 – 3/2/13

    • Hi, Ashley. They were in the freezer for a few weeks. The chicken brats were on sale at Target, with a TQ sticker. Sadly, I did not have a MQ to stack, but 1.49 for a package of brats is pretty good.

      Like

  1. It’s a good thing fish was on sale last week because I didn’t feel quite as bad when my attempt to cook catfish yesterday was a huge flop!

    Like

    • Oh, no! Hope it wasn’t too big a loss. Not a catfish fan, but I found that for my cod last week, a simple, crisp topping was great. I mixed panko with a little seasoning salt, added a few dribbles of olive oil and mixed well. I smashed the fish into the panko on both sides, then topped the fillets with the remaining crumb mix. Baked at 350 for about 15 minutes, and it was crispy, not greasy, and tasty, too.

      Like

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

