Eat Better for Body and Budget: Water

glassofwaterOur bodies are made of 85% water.  That would be pure H2O, not the stuff that comes from the Mighty Mo.  Or, for that matter, your tap.

In order to replenish our supply of body water daily, we need to take in 2-3 quarts of water, by drinking and eating.  This keeps me in the rest room, but I do feel better when I drink more of the good stuff.

But what’s the good stuff, really?  I’ve been reading about water, contaminants, nutrients and chemicals quite a bit lately, mostly on the blogosphere.  I know not everything on the Interwebs is true, of course, so I’ve been supplementing with other reading.  One book in particular that has my attention right now is “The Seven Pillars of Health” by Don Colbert, MD, available at the library.  He starts with the topic of water, and tells how hydration and dehydration have an incredible effect on our bodies.

I noticed for a few weeks that the flow at our kitchen faucet was wanky (that’s a technical term), so last week I opened the regular filter and cleaned it out.  There was at least half a teaspoon of solid material in there, and some of it took a long time to disengage.  I put new filters for the InstaPure faucet filter on my list, too.  And while cruising Target last week, I found a Zero Water pitcher system on clearance for $39.99!  This is an ion exchange filtration system, the kind Dr. Colbert recommends to eliminate the highest amount of contaminants in drinking water.  It comes with a dipstick meter to instantly measure the Total Dissolved Solids (the bad stuff) in any water.  You measure the TDS in the filtered water (000), and if it registers 006, it’s time to change the filter.  I figured if it didn’t work, I could take it back.

I measured the water directly from the tap.  It was more than 350!  Well, good thing we have a faucet filter, right?  It was more than 260!  Wait a minute…  I changed the filter, ran a few quarts through, and measured again.  It was still more than 260!  This is good ole Omaha water, and the faucet filter doesn’t seem to be doing much.  Then I checked the Zero water after filtration, and it is 000!  That indicates that most of the TDS contaminants are removed from the water.

I am sold on the ion exchange filtration idea.  The water tastes better, feels better, and apparently is better for us.  Unfortunately, right now all we can afford is the pitcher.  But I can live with that for cooking and drinking for right now.  I will keep my eyes open for an under-sink ion exchange system at a reasonable cost, or even a whole-house one.  For drinking, though, the cost of the pitcher and filters beats bottled spring water hands down.

Even though I drank six to eight 8-oz glasses per day, I decided to increase that, especially since I’m working out more these days.  I have a one-quart Nalgene water bottle, which I fill and drink twice per day; plus, I have a glass in the morning, after exercising, and with dinner.  I’ve noticed improvements with headaches, skin, tastebuds and even (gross) body odors.  I can’t recommend this type of filtration enough.  It certainly is better than our tap water.  Tap water may be far, far Cheaper than filtered, but with TDS above 350, I’m not sure it’s really worth the savings.

What has been your experience with water filters?  What do you think of Omaha tap water?

2 thoughts on “Eat Better for Body and Budget: Water

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

