2012 Menu Planning: 2/3 – 2/9/13

Where has CT been?  Umm.  The dog ate my homework? 😀  Actually, I’ve been shuffling around last-minute dinner plans on an almost daily basis.  And we’ve tossed a new evening activity (TKD) into the weekly mix.  Fun times.  I really wish our evening family life would get back in order.  But anyway, I have been remiss in posting my menus.

This week starts with much more food than normal for a Sunday.   Usually we eat light on Sunday, but with a guest for the game, and the game at dinner time, We have quite the variety of dishes to offer. This will be the biggest cost meal of the week, but will yield lots of leftovers for lunch or to be reincarnated.  I’m still trying to low-carb and no-pork my meals, so this is a challenge.  But a yummy one.

I’ll be using up a lot of the produce I have in salads, with lunches and for snacks.   We end the week on a frugal note, and I suspect we’ll also have leftovers for lunches throughout the week.  Here’s what’s on our dinner menus this week:

Sunday:  Beef chili, corn muffins and corn dog muffins, Hormel party tray (coupon stack and price cut at Target!), turkey pepperoni to sub for some in the tray, “tots” (DH is making, as I won’t touch the things), chips and salsa, layered dip, cookies.  Phew!

Monday:  Spaghetti marinara, green veg, salads.

Tuesday:  Tamale pie, doctored tomato soup and/or leftover chili from Sunday.

Wednesday:  Pork tenderloin roast (chicken breast for me), mac & cheese, salads.

Thursday:  Homemade pizzas w/whole wheat crust using leftover pepperoni from Sunday, salad for me.

Friday:  Ham and bean soup (using frozen FoodSavered Christmas ham bone), biscuits.

Saturday:  Leftovers or enchiladas made from leftovers, salads, rice for them.

I have no idea how much these seven menus for four will cost me.  I haven’t kept track the last couple of weeks, because I’ve had so many leftovers and store bargains.  I have also been experimenting with organics and foods I don’t normally cook, so that radar is a little off.  I know I’m still spending about $75-80/week for the four of us, and I haven’t been buying a lot of meat (other than the chicken deals).  I continue to scout out seasonal bargains and fill the freezers.  Time to start making prepared meals, not just ready ingredients.  Things are going to get real busy real soon.

So what’s on YOUR menu?

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday at OrgJunkie.com.

2 thoughts on “2012 Menu Planning: 2/3 – 2/9/13

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

