Eat Better for Body and Budget: Meat

Omigosh.   Since when is $9.49/# for beef top sirloin a good sale price?!  Even with the Baker’s BOGO sale this week, that’s still $4.75/#.  Even beef chuck roast is $3.59/# at Bag N Save this week, and $3.69/# at HyVee.  In September 2010 it was $1.99/#.

I know prices go up, but geesh!  That’s 80%, folks.  Sure, there are lots of reasons:  drought = less corn to feed the cattle and less grass for grazers; higher costs to water and transport; higher gas costs to transport both cattle and processed meats.

So this is a great time to cut back on beef and meat consumption.  We’re re-learning to live with less meat and supplement with other forms of protein here at Chez CT.  I’m on a mini-kick as meal provider, and that will be reflected in our menus over the next long while.

I’m to trying to move from conventional foods to organic or at least “natural,” and minimally-processed foods.  These do go on sale, and I’ll be heading to Trader Joe’s.  And I’m still finding free chicken at Target with the deal scenario; it’s minimally processed.  Now, since our bodies should have only about 3-5 oz. per serving of animal protein at a time, a little over a pound is plenty for a meal for our family.

I’m also trying to eliminate pork from my personal diet.  It would be a really hard sell to my guys, so I’m not pushing it.  I was convicted while reading Hallee’s  post about pork, and honestly this was weighing on me for a few years.  It will be difficult, and I mean really, really, really difficult for this bacon- and ham-raised gal to change in this regard.  But, I was able to remove seafood (not fish) from my diet, and while that was difficult at first, I’m okay with it now. So this will just take a few moves, like subbing chicken for my portion of bbq dinner tonight.  The thing is there is so much pork in my freezer right now, and I got it at bargain prices, so I got a lot.  FoodSavered, it will last quite a while, so this weaning will be over months, not days.  And there is no way I can say, “No more bacon,” to my guys and survive.

I have read some books on the subject of Biblical diets over the years, which deal with the type and amount of meat consumption.  Some notable ones include:

  • The Maker’s Diet: The 40-day Health Experience That Will Change Your Life Forever by Jordan S. Rubin
  • What the Bible Says About Healthy Living: 3 Principles That Will Change Your Diet and Improve Your Health by Rex Russell, M.D.
  • What Would Jesus Eat? The Ultimate Program for Eating Well, Feeling Great, and Living Longer by Don Colbert, M.D.

Each of them has provided some good information to me; some viewpoints (like eating dirt) escape me, however.  The bottom line is that when our Creator gave guidelines for eating, He knew what He was doing.  And truly, a balanced diet reflects a balanced life and vice versa.

I’ll be sharing recipe successes for using proteins in coming weeks.  By using proteins differently in our diet, this year we’ll be eating better for our bodies and our budget.  That’s a win-win from my angle!

One thought on “Eat Better for Body and Budget: Meat

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

