2012 Menu Planning: 12/9 – 12/15/12

Wow, lots going on this week.  Thank goodness the inside and outside of our house are fully decorated, I have a handle on treat-making (what I’ve wanted to make for my family and friends), and Christmas cards have been sent.  I can take my time with the little things, like wrapping gifts and enjoying my kids’ activities for once.

We have a science fair, a Christmas concert, a bar mitzvah and an office Christmas party this week.  No worries.  It all fits into the meal plan!  Here’s what’s on our dinner menus this week:

Sunday:  Charmie’s Potato Cheese Soup (~$2), whole wheat rolls (.89), salads (.40).

Monday:  Lemon pepper chicken breasts ($1.49 total), couscous (.95), carrots (.35).

Tuesday:  Italian sausage (Honeysuckle White 1.99) subs (buns .99, sauce .50, mozarella .50), small salads? (.40).

Wednesday:  My version of Turkey Taco Soup like this one ($2.25/pot serves 10), cornbread (.50 total) or tortilla chips (.99).

Thursday:  Bear Creek beef stroganoff noodles ($2) with Laura’s Lean beef eye of round (2.19), carrots (.35) — second time.

Friday:  Light & Creamy Chicken Enchiladas from the freezer (1.50 total), salads (.40).

Saturday:  Full day of celebrations and such, out to parties!

These meals for four will cost me about $19 (again). I STILL have plenty in the freezers and pantries, so my grocery trips are mostly for Project Hope , especially the loss leaders.  I did get free carrots this week, but am using ones I bought first, so the frees will appear later on.

So what’s on YOUR menu?

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday.

4 thoughts on “2012 Menu Planning: 12/9 – 12/15/12

    • Thanks, Julie! After many years, and much adjusting, we have a good balance of food and budget. It’s not always this frugal, but I’m happy with it, especially now.

      Like

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

