2012 Menu Planning: 12/2 – 12/8/12

These days, this seasonal time which should be joyous, is filled with “obligations.”  While I try to keep on top of the fickle work schedules and changing events, I’m finding it easier on my sanity to plan one week at a time.  That’s odd because I usually feel more secure having a few weeks planned out ahead.

I’m making Christmas treats while the oven is hot.  (No massive amounts of cookies this year!)  I put out the Christmas tree ornaments and told the fam to have at it as they were passing through the room for the next few days (it worked, actually).  The weather has been so beautiful, putting up the outside decorations has been fun and easy this year.  Shopping is less, and more enjoyable, too.

This week I have “quick yumminess” planned for our menus.  Maybe the guys will linger a little at the table.  Here’s what’s on our dinner menus this week:

Sunday:  Out to Valentino’s buffet to celebrate #2’s “all As” report card!

Monday:  Cheesy Ham and Potato Casserole from the freezer (~$1.50), green salads (.40), carrots (.30).

Tuesday:  Turkey (leftover, picked and frozen) with pasta (.88) and pesto cooking creme (~1.50), broccoli (.50).

Wednesday:  Muffin pan meatloaves with bacon (beef 1.99/#), baked sweet potatoes (.37/#), green beans (.29), salads (.40).

Thursday:  Crispy onion-coated chicken breasts (.99/#), twice-baked potatoes from the freezer (.40 total), peas&carrots (.88).

Friday:  Mini tuna patties($2), homemade mac/cheese (1.50), salads (.40).

Saturday:  Pork chops (1.88/#), stuffing (.69), carrots (.40), green veg TBD.

These meals for four (other than going out) will cost me about $19. I still have plenty in the freezers and pantries, so I don’t have to get many groceries at all, just milk, produce, and things we run out of.  But if there’s a slammin’ deal, I’ll pick it up.  My excess is going to Project Hope these weeks, including the loss leaders I just can pass up.

So what’s on YOUR menu?

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday.

3 thoughts on “2012 Menu Planning: 12/2 – 12/8/12

  1. MPM definitely keeps me on track. I actually look forward to Mondays!
    I made Snickerdoodles, my son’s favorite cookies, this week. When I was about to have tea yesterday I discovered no cookies! My husband and son have managed to devour and give some away. Next time I’ll keep a separate stash for my tea!
    Your menu plan looks delicious.
    Have a wonderful week!

    Like

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

