Review: Rubbermaid LunchBlox Kit

Rubbermaid has a new line of products that is very cool!  The LunchBlox kits are unique as the containers snap together to each other, or to a “blue ice” cooler.

Right now, Baker’s has the sandwich kits (pictured above) on sale.  Shelf price is $12.99 (ouch!), but the sale price is $5.99.  There is a coupon from Sunday’s (and Wednesday’s) SmartSource insert, making them $4.49.  I picked one up today, and I think I’m going back to get another.

This is one of several modular sets that all work together.  You can buy extra containers and blue ice blox online and in different sizes.  I can see this working great for meal kits for fridge or freezer!  They are BPA free, freezable, microwaveable, and top-rack dishwasher safe.  Plus, they’re pretty tough (I dropped mine a few times.)

The blue ice freezes in less than an hour, which is great if you forgot to toss it in the freezer the night before, and can do it before you get ready in the morning.  The smallest containers are small enough for salad dressing, dip, or a small handful of raisins.  They would be great for little kids.  The other sizes are all quite usable, for sides and sandwiches — the sandwich box is deep!  And you can snap them together without the blue ice, as well.  All put together, they make a nice, compact cube of roughly 5.5″.

I like that the lids fit very well.  I’ve only hand washed, but would expect Rubbermaid quality to stand up and not warp.  (My dishwasher “sanitizes” at a very high temp, so I’m afraid to put these in right now.)

For the price I got, I would say this kit is a winner.  Very versatile, easy to clean up, and easy to cart around (snapped together).  Now is the time to get these, before BTS rush wipes them out.  I wouldn’t wait for a clearance sale on these, because they’ll probably all be gone.

Look for the packaging with $5 in coupons inside!  Coupons include:  $1.50 off LunchBlox kit; $1 off Rubbermaid hydration bottle; $1 off LunchBlox lunch bag (with online ordering instructions and free shipping code); .50 off French’s spicy brown mustard; .55 off Arnold, Brownberry or Orowheat Sandwich Thins; .75/2 StarKist tuna pouch.  All coupons expire 12/31/12.

To enter the giveaway, go back to the giveaway post.

