2012 Menu Planning: 5/20-5/26/12

A few more days until I can start to relax.  I’ll be off for a few weeks, and the boys will be out of school.  It usually takes a few days to let it all sink in, so I’m making it simple in case time gets away from me.  Like it did on Sunday.

All day I kept thinking how I needed to make dinner early so the guys could get to a 6 pm Scout thing.  At my regular dinner-making time of 5 pm, I vacantly tossed dinner in the oven to cook for 50 minutes.  THEN DH re-reminded me of the 6 pm thing.  Scramble!  I decided to leave the turkey tenderloins in the oven for a pre-cooked meal later in the week.  What to make fast?  Frozen breaded chicken tenderloin strips!  Doctored up corn.  They’ll likely be having dessert tonight.  Phew!  Dinner on the table in 10.

Tragedy avoided, I set to revamping my weekly plan.  Here’s what’s on our dinner menus this week:

Sunday:  Aforementioned chicken (2.49), corn (.88) with roasted veg seasoning (pennies).  About $2.90.

Monday:  Aforementioned turkey tenderloin ($3), carrots (.40), brown rice (.40).  About $3.80.

Tuesday:  Cheddar brats (1.99), boiled buttered potatoes (.25), green beans (.34).  About $2.60.

Wednesday:  Last day of school, local shop pizza (FREE) with possible green salad (.40).  About .50.!

Thursday:  Second turkey tenderloin ($3), pasta (.91) with Italian herbs (pennies), salad (.50).  About $4.50.

Friday:  Grilled chicken breasts (.88/#), fresh veg tbd, fruit pies (.50) with ice cream (.50).  About $4.00.

Saturday:  Spaghetti (.50), meatballs and sauce (2.19), salads (.50).  About $$3.25.

These dinners for the four of us will cost about $21.50, including takeout pizza.  I may be adding or subbing fresh produce here and there, but the cost will be about the same.  What does your menu look like?

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday.

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

