$350 Per Month — Grocery Cost This Week 19

This week we saw double coupons at No Frills again.  (Still opportunities through Tuesday.)  Trying to dissect it, well, the best I can figure it’s about once a month.  There doesn’t seem to be a set policy or pattern, so I just think of it as an interesting surprise when it happens.

Since Mother’s Day was coming up, I weighed the cash v. cleanup time issue.  I ended up finding a great deal on breakfast-in-bed items, so we went that route.  I still had to clean up.  Also found some treats and awesome produce for healthy meals.

No Frills:  Doubles got me there this week.  Two trips, one a scouting mission, and another bigger visit.  Chips Ahoy!, peanut butter, DiGiorno pizzas, Pillsbury cinnamon rolls and broccoli slaw, were the only deals I got this round.  Thank goodness for the pb!  Total for food $16.41.

Bag N Save:  Early in the week I went back for two more milks at 2.29.  After Wednesday, I found some great grocery deals:  large dozen eggs .79, split chicken breasts .88/#, Kraft colby slices (4.39 – $2 sticker markdown coupons – .55 insert coupons = 1.84), LoL sliced ham 2.99 – $1 insert coupon, apples, sausage for brunch, flour tortillas 1.79, green onions (beautiful!) .50, romaine 1.69, bananas, cereals, potatoes.  Total for food $39.74.

Aldi:  I always run into someone I know at Aldi!  Twice this week, I saw old friends.  Milks were 2.29 again, for all variety gallons.  Thank you.  I picked up list items here, mostly, and some great looking produce at great prices.  Cucumbers for .29 — outrageous.  Later returned for a gift item.  Total for food: $16.88. 

Target:  Brown rice for .79.

Total this week: $73.82, which puts my monthly total just for food at $126.99.  I didn’t get much meat, but did get easy-make items for the lazy weekend.   Next week is the last rush-rush week for a while, and I’m glad. 

What I have for the coming weeks:  Some ground chicken, split breasts, lots of produce, a little pork, and a flat iron beef steak.  Also some premade/planned over ingredients.  I hope to make chicken enchiladas this week, some for the freezer.  We’ll see.

To see how I put these provisions together into menu plans, check out my Menu Plan Monday posts each week.  They list how much each dinner costs, which is usually less than $5 for dinner for four.

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

