$350 Per Month — Grocery Cost This Week 17 and April Recap

So I overdid it a little.  I couldn’t pass up some deals for donations.  Double coupons at HyVee, and some great SuperSaver deals, along with my regular weekly needs, bumped me over.  But I’m not sweating, because I know a lot of it went to help a lot of people.

Super Saver:  Despite the cashier entry snafu, this was a great trip.  Whole wheat Ritz for 1.44, Kraft shredded and bar cheeses .97, marked down turkey tenderloin and pork tenderloin, can vegs .38, can pasta sauce .63.  Total for food $41.36.

Target:  Gold N Plump chicken breasts 5.69 – $3 Target stickers – $1.50 manuf coupon = 1.19 each (4-5 breasts in each pack).  MP pasta and sauce $1 each – $1/2 Target coupons = .50 each for food pantry.  Total for food $4.38.

No Frills:  Deal of the Day:  6-pack ActII popcorn FF just .78!  Roberts yogurts 3/$1 – .30, bananas .19/#, PM ice cream 1.49, PM pasta .88.  Total for food $15.57.

Aldi:  Milks  2.26/gallon on 4/28.  Cereal 1.49, fruit bars 1.49, bologna .99, strawberries .99, a little this and that.  Total for food $36.46.

HyVee:  Hormel chili FREE, Jolly Time popcorn .50, more ice cream, Mrs. Dash, and a freezer meal for “those” nights.  Total for food $7.60.

Bag N Save:  Bl/sl chicken breasts 4.49 (1.36/#), Banquet boneless breaded chicken 2.49, Roberts sour cream .80, sommadis, sommadat.  Total for food $12.74.

Total this week: $118.11, which puts my monthly total just for food at $354.02 — Woah!  A little over the budget, and well above my “self imposed” budget for this month.  HOWEVER!  I am happy to report that a big chunk of that went toward donations for Project Hope and Scouting for Food.  I also cleaned out my own pantry and donated a bunch of stuff.  So, if I had to guess, I’d say I did come in around $300 for my family.

What I have for the coming weeks:  Lots of everything we need.  Variety, volume, and versatility.  I’m looking for new ways to put together some of the things I have, and I’m hoping the weather will clear up now that I have time to grill.

To see how I put these provisions together into menu plans, check out my Menu Plan Monday posts each week.

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

