$350 Per Month — Grocery Cost This Week 13 and March Recap

I’d like to remind everyone that Project Hope can again benefit even more from your donations during the Feinstein Challenge.  Remember to contribute food donations in March and April!

Not the week I thought it would be.  Boy, did time fly!  Two trips to Bag N Save (one quickie and one full trip), and a stop at Aldi.  Sorry, this post wasn’t completed last week and is late.  I had seriously good reasons, though.  So here you go….

Aldi:  May first I say how Thrilled I am that my favorite cashier is back?!  The cutest baby boy on her smart phone, too.  Okay, skim milks were 2.33/gallon on 3/30.  Flour tortillas at .99, split green peas at .69, and crescent rolls at .99 were great bargains.  I got a bunch of list staples, and cake mix for Easter, too.  Total for food $26.25.

Bag N Save:  Banquet frozen family meals for 1.75 are a great buy, and while we use two per dinner starter, that’s still just $3.50 per meal with leftovers!  Our Fam cereal 2.29 – .5o OF coupon = 1.79.  Lunchmeat for $1.99.  Total for food this trip $21.74.

Another trip to do my real shopping:  Coffee 4.99, turkey breast ~$6 each!  Old Orch juice (because we needed it) 2.19 – BOGO (1.10 each).  Other can vegs for Project Hope and Scouting for Food.  Total for food $55.34. 

Total this week: $103.33, which puts my monthly total just for food at $318.10, which includes food for our visitor.  While I would have liked to see this number lower, there were a variety of personal factors that compelled me to take some shortcuts.  I’m still under budget.

What I’ve got for the coming weeks: Chicken, fish, that .99 ground beef, and pantry staples.  I cleaned out my pantry and divided the bags between Project Hope and Scouting for Food.  I still have a blessed bounty, which is going to come in handy during the next two months as we scrimp and save to pay off those car repair bills.

I’m looking forward to a peaceful spring now, and a slower, more purposeful pace that will allow me to make better decisions with our budget, and with our lives in general.  (Soapbox moment:  I really believe that families that live too active lives, without down time, tend to make rash decisions, and to not take teachable moments to their fullest potential.  Just sayin’.  Done now.)

 To see how I put these provisions together into menu plans, check out my Menu Plan Monday posts each week.

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

