$350 Per Month — Grocery Cost This Week 12: One-Shot Wonder

I’d like to remind everyone that Project Hope can again benefit even more from your donations during the Feinstein Challenge.  Remember to contribute food donations in March and April!

“I’m late!  I’m late!  For a very important date!”  I felt like the White Rabbit this week, running, doing, chauffering, and planning this and that.  Phew!  Thusly, I only shopped at Aldi this week for my list groceries.  And then a fast bolt into Baker’s for some steaks for the grill.

(Who knew the steak in Germany is so bad the teens won’t touch it?!  Well, they can’t come to Nebraska without getting the best beef steaks in the world — the Real Deal.  So steak it is, and the weather is certainly cooperating for grillage.)

Aldi:  Skim milk was 2.33/gallon on 3/21.  I restocked some staples, got butter for 1.99, fish stix for 2.99, cracked wheat snack crackers for 1.79, cream cheese for .99, strawberries .99/#, whole wheat bread 1.69, and a little this and that.  Total for food $41.05.

Baker’s:  We were right there getting hairs cut, and I’m all about saving gas these days.  Found grill steaks on sale for 3.99/#, and that works for me.  Total for food $19.34.

Total this week: $60.39, which puts my monthly total just for food at $214.77, and I am so okay with that, it’s silly.  I splurged a little for things our friend would like, and I’m glad I could!  Our meals will be partly here, partly out and about, so I will probably not get close to $350 this month.  Too bad, so sad.

What I’ve got for the coming weeks: Still planned Midwestern delicacies for our visitor, STILL lots of chicken, and beginnings of light meals. Love the variety my pantries and freezers provide.

 To see how I put these provisions together into menu plans, check out my Menu Plan Monday posts each week.

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

