Menu Planning 10/23-10/28/11

The weather here has been fickle, with near-80 highs one day, and barely in the 50s a few days later.  We’re craving fall foods, and those are plentiful in the stores, thankfully.  The pork, chicken and produce make it to the menu.

This week, we are happy to be done with one weekly night’s activity!  Vision therapy kept us on our toes on Tuesday evenings, but we’re done now, with great success.  One more week of my current assignment schedule means fast-fix meals again; a new opportunity starting next week, which allows me to be home earlier, means mealtimes should be calmer very soon.

A word about the salads.  I got a fabulous deal on a HUGE bag of prepped Romaine at Bag N Save: $1.99 for several RTS servings — yay!  Then I remembered that I needed big leaves for the hamburgers Saturday, so while we were at Target, I got a head of Romaine for $1.99, thinking, “It’ll get used.”  It’s so HUGE!  More than I’d normally get for one week.  So we have tons of green leafies, and we’ll be having lots of salads this week.  On the days it’s not on the dinner menu, I’ll be having Big Salads for lunches.

Here’s what’s on our dinner menus this week:

Sunday:  Leftover components from Saturday’s entertaining made into ground chicken “enchi-rittos,” and big green salads (.50).  About $2.50, guessing.

Monday I’m making an apple crisp that will hopefully last a few nights.  About $1.50.

Monday:  Leftover cole slaw (~.85), Crocked pork sirloin roast (1.69/# = $3), leftover broccoli, cauli and carrots from the veg tray, cooked (~ $1.00).  About $4.85.

Tuesday:  Spaghetti (Smart Taste $1), with red sauce (.54), garlic crescents (.79), big green salads (.50).  About $3.00.

Wednesday:  Baked seasoned split chicken breasts ($3), leftover loaded baked potato dish (~$1.50), big green salads (.50).  About $5.00.  I love the program feature on my oven!

Thursday:  Pan-fried fish filets ($1.88/# = ~$3.75), more leftover broccoli, cauli and carrots from the veg tray, cooked (~ $1.00), garlic crescents (.79).  About $5.50.  The fish needs to be eaten, period.

Friday:  I’m going out, and the guys are having Spam (shudder) unused from a campout, and some kind of noodles; I’ll ask them to have salad, which they won’t.  DH will probably bring home Tater Tots to go with their meal.  Ick.

Saturday:  Chicken (leftover from Wednesday, $1.50) pot pie (vegs $.89, pie crust $1, other ingredients .60), big green salads (.50).  About $3.50.

These dinners for four will cost about $26.00.  I’m amazed that I can still feed my guys with their increased appetites, on our skimpy budget.  I’m secretly challenging myself on the budget, and I’m doing very well, I think.   

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday. What’s on your menu? What deals are you putting to use?

mpm-1

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

