Manu Planning 10/16-22/11

I’m not even going to attempt to explain my past week to you….you wouldn’t really believe it, anyway.  I can hardly believe it.  Let’s just say you never know what Life is going to throw at you, or how hard, or which way to duck.  It is only through prayer that I have managed to survive this week. 

Since I don’t know what the coming week will bring, one way or the other, I can only plan for what I do know.  And that is a plethora of activities which greatly affect my dinner menus.  My menu plans are saving me.

Here’s what’s on our dinner menus this week:

Sunday:  Johnsonville chicken sausage with apple ($2 for 2 pkgs), spaghetti squash with butter($1), salads (.85).  About $3.85.  Also roasting chicken breasts for tomorrow.

Monday:  early evening Pre-roasted chicken breasts (4.16), Alfredo pasta (.80), green beans (.25).  About $5.21.

Tuesday:  early evening #1 making pizzas ($6).

Wednesday:  really early evening  Jumbo dogs (.25), buns (.40), fries (.60).  About $2.75 with condiments.

Thursday:  Crock Pot tortellini soup (~$3), garlic bread ($1).  About $4.

Friday:  Bean and cheese burritos ($3), rice (.40), salads (.80).  About $4.20.

Saturday:  Friends over for the Husker game: burgers, dogs, baked beans, dip stuff, cookies.  Unsure of recipes or cost.

 These meals for four (excluding entertaining) will cost about $26.00.  I’m guessing Saturday will be about $15, since I’m making food from scratch and there will be seven of us.  My #2 has developed an appetite, which is good, but puts extra strain on the food budget.  I’ve been shaking my head a lot lately over the rising cost of food.

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday. What’s on your menu? What deals are you putting to use?

mpm-1

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

