Slimmer This Summer: Week 9

Slimmer This Summer update: 

Goal weight loss:  16.5#
Loss this week:  .5#
Loss to date:  6.5#
Remaining toward goal:  10.0# 

 

You know what?  That half pound was hair!  I got a haircut, and my thick, heavy hair probably weighed half a pound.  I’ll take it. 

So, I’m resolved that I probably won’t lose ten more pounds in three weeks.  And that’s okay.  It’s been a weird, crazy, pull-no-punches kind of summer, and nothing has gone as planned.  At all!  Life is like that.  So why should this have any bigger impact?

Eating was so-so, and I own that.  I don’t do well with too much change at once, and revert to my old “safe” patterns.  Work last week was out.rage.ous.ly stressful, so I self-comforted with chocolate.  Friday was a disaster: the place where I’m working had free ice cream day, and an ice cream sandwich was thrust at me.  I caved.  Later in the day, someone brought in cake pops to celebrate a retirement.  I caved again.  I tried, but the counterattack was stronger.  My breakfasts and lunches were great; dinners were very good, too.  It’s the extras, and I need to be more diligent.

The stress level at work will be drastically reduced due to that retirement.  Breathe.  I’m getting used to the commute (although not all that comfortable with it), and might be able to time my afternoon drive to avoid the height of traffic.  But I also know that in a week and a half, all our schedules change again when school starts.  August and September are hellish for me.  I’m bracing.  And clenching.  And maybe that’s a big part of the problem, now that I think about it.

No exercise last week.  I own that, too.  Well, I did take the stairs up and down one flight all week; that counts for something.  We have really odd schedules right now, but that should change, and so should the weather, in about another week.  By odd schedules, I mean we’re up by 4 am for #1, but the rest of our lives and activities keep on time.  By weather, I mean this 111 degree heat index oppression, with 78s in the mornings.  It’s draining. 

This week:  Keep using the stairs.  Try an indoor morning workout three days and increase aerobic activity.  CHILLAX!  Resist the extras and conquer. 

Denise Austin - Get Fit, Tight and Toned!

7 thoughts on “Slimmer This Summer: Week 9

  1. Stress has been number one here too. I have a home daycare and have lost so many families this past year with layoffs, moving and more that I’m finding life a bit challenging. So I understand.
    Keep making your good choices and taking care of yourself. You can do this.
    Take care and God Bless!!!

    Like

  2. I’m praying that your work stress levels will now be lessened. Hopefully that will help make you stronger to say no when those sugary foods are thrust at you. It’s tough, I know – I hated when we’d have special meetings to attend at work because even when they knew I was watching what I ate, the constant “just this once” always led me to a full-blown overeating session.

    Like

  3. I sincerely hope next week is much less stressful for you! You have all my sympathy for back to school. We go back the week after next, and this weekend was spent fetching supplies, uniforms and new shoes for the masses. Ugh. It’s too hot to go back to school!

    Like

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

