Menu Planning 6/5-6/11/11

A friend asked me the other day how my summer was going so far.  Huh?  #2 just got out of school Wednesday, and DH was home the whole week.  Waiting to hear back on a  job offer, but that’ll be Wednesday.  Getting ready for neighborhood garage sales this week.  And — surprise! — it’s supposed to get to 98 degrees today!  So I don’t have a handle on my summer yet.

I do, however, have a handle on my dinner menus!  I’m doing  Slimmer This Summer, so my menus are low-cal, hi-pro, low-carb.  The guys get their starches; I get extra vegs.  Several evenings keep the dinners fast this week, too.  Here’s what’s on our dinner menus:

Sunday:  Beef noodle casserole from the freezer (very small portion for me) (1.50), salads (.25 for all), zuchinni (.15) for me.  About $2.

Monday:  Guys: hot dogs (.75), buns (.35), chips (.50).  Me:  1/4# lean burger (.50), garden salad (.10), apple (.10).  About $2.30.

Tuesday:  Italian-marinated chicken from the freezer (1.40), broccoli (1.19), pasta for the guys (.25), cooked peppers for me (~.75).  About $3.60.

Wednesday:  Burgers (1.98), buns for the guys (.35), oven fries for the guys (~.50), Microwave Sweet Potato Chips (without butter and using a spice rub) for me (~.20).  About $3.10.

Thursday:  Salmon ($4), fresh veg (~.50), salad (.25).  About $4.75.

Friday:  Chicken from the freezer (~$1), stir-fry vegs (1.50), rice for the guys (.30).  About $2.80.

Saturday:  TBD, but probably grillage,  less than $5.

These menus will get my family of four (one is a male teen with a hollow leg, so pretty much five) through the week for about $23.50.  Who says watching your diet is expensive?

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday. What’s on your menu? What deals are you putting to use?

mpm-1

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

