Menu Planning 5/29-6/4/11

“The unofficial start of summer” it’s called.  Hmm.  Doesn’t feel like summer with this drizzle/rain, wind, and iffy forecast.  Memorial Day (US) weekend is always an outdoor gamble, but this year it seems even more weird.  But I’m still planning on the grill!  How ’bout you?

I’m also finishing a few dozen cookies for a volunteer luncheon, and I’m Thrilled to be using my new edible pens on the hardened icing.  I’ve been yearning for a set of these, and this occasion prompted me to get them finally (JoAnn, 8.99).

My #1 is already done for the school year, and #2 is done on Wednesday!  (He moves up to middle school near our home, schedules are different, and I will drive very little next year.)  As of June 1, our whole world changes, including my work life, which affects my menu life.  The summer will be interesting.

I’ve got several main dishes and sides in the freezer already.  Wish I could find some of those crazy-cheap deals like last year right now, but I guess I have to wait a bit.  So this week’s dinners include requested favorites and special treats, and I’ll be making potato dishes and chicken roll-ups for the freezer. 

Here’s what’s on our menus this week:

Sunday:  My version of French bread pizzas (bread .89, sauce and meatballs .50, pepperoni .35, cheese .40), salads (.40).  About $2.60.

Monday:  Memorial Day grill!  It’s all about the brats, right?  (1.5 pkg x 2.49 = 3.74)  Corn on the cob ($1), pork n beans (.19), salad (.40).  About $5.50 for the meal.

Tuesday:  Papa Murphy’s pizza using $10 coupon = FREE, salad (.40), to celebrate last full day of school!

Wednesday:  Chicken (plain from freezer, ~1.98) stir-fry ($1.50 vegs), with rice (.40).  About $4.

Thursday:  Tuna patties (.39/can x 3, egg .07), pasta (.35) with cheese (.50), green beans (.43).  About $2.60.

Friday:  Ham and Cheesy Potato Casserole like THIS RECIPE (~$1, really), salads (.40).  About $1.50.

Saturday:  Grilled Spice-Rubbed Picnic Chicken (America’s Test Kitchen) (~$2.50), corn on the cob ($1), possibly slaw or salad or ??  (~.50).  About $4.

These menus will get my family of four (one is a male teen with a hollow leg, so pretty much five) through the week for about $21.00. 

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday. What’s on your menu? What deals are you putting to use?

mpm-1

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

