Menu Planning: 2/27-3/5/11 — Down to Basics Edition #1

What has Cheap Thrills planned for this week?

Using up the pantry/freezers, that’s what.  I did major inventory/cleaning/purging of my pantries and freezers last weekend.  It’s time to get Down to Basics.  Some call this a “pantry challenge.”  I’m not thinking of it as a challenge, so much as a choice.  And I’m not doing it because I don’t have a full grocery budget, but we have enough, and we need to use what we already have.  Leftover after donations.  Which is alot! 

I actually planned out my dinner menus through the end of April.  There will be changes along the way, I’m sure, so actual menus for the week after Easter will be adjusted as that time gets closer.  I’m pretty proud to say I’ve managed to include two meatless meals per week, Wednesdays and Fridays, starting March 9.  The meals are quite varied, and I don’t think we’ll get bored.  I’ll still have lots of chicken left in the freezer, too. 

But this is also the Cook’s Birthday Edition, so Sunday and Monday are blowouts.  Prices reflect what I paid when I got the items.  Here’s what’s on our dinner menu this week:

Sunday:  Out to dinner @ Vincenzo’s for my birthday!  My favorite restaurant, a treat, and we have a Groupon!

Monday:  It’s my birthday, so I’m not cookin’!  Garlic Chicken pizza from Papa Murphy’s (with 50% off coupon) — no cookie coupon for me this year 😦 , Blue Bunny ice cream cones ($1)

Tuesday:  Breaded boneless pork chops (1.50 for all @ Target), Make-Ahead Twice-Baked Potatoes (~$1), carrots (.44)

Wednesday:  Chicken pot pie from the freezer (crust .50, FREE chicken, sauce .30, vegs leftover), salad (.50)

Thursday:  Beef lasagna skillet meal (beef .98, meal .65), green beans (.25)

Friday:  Baked French Toast from the freezer (bread .44, 4 eggs .30), bacon (~1.75, but cooking the whole package ahead), fruit (apples .98/#, bananas .40/#, oranges .57/#)

Saturday:  Turkey and gravy from the freezer (2.36), Make-Ahead Twice-Baked Potatoes from the freezer(~$1), green beans (.25)

For more inspiration and awe, visit Menu Plan Monday. What’s on your menu? What deals are you putting to use?

mpm-1

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

