Insuladd for Painting and Insulating — A Review

In 2010, I painted — quite a bit!  Mostly outside, but then I did my master bedroom.  You may recall it had a faux finish with a slight texture, so I knew I had to prime, then paint with a self-leveling paint.

The guys at Sherwin Williams fixed me right up.  They showed me which primer would work best, and recommended their Cashmere paint (on sale 40% off!) to smooth out the finish.  (Awesome guys, those.)  Got all new rollers, covers and tools, too (about time!), with coupons.

I also decided to use a product called Insuladd on the two outside walls, because there is little, if any, insulation in those walls. Not a perfect fix, but I hoped it would help. Insuladd is a heat reflective additive that gives an insulating factor to paint. It went on the market commercially in the 90s, but wasn’t available through retail here in Omaha, until 2010, at least until I finally found it at Menard’s.  It can be purchased in one packet for one gallon, or larger containers for bigger quantities.  I paid 14.99 for a packet to add to the primer.  I figured that it was a powder that could cause texture issues, so if it did, I’d still have the Cashmere to put over it.

I’m glad I put it in the primer.  The product is a powderized ceramic, and mixed according to instructions into one gallon, it makes the paint very thick, like pudding almost.   When it dries it creates a sandy type texture, which I would not have liked in my top coat.  Painting the Cashmere over the primer coat did produce a nice finish, and I am quite pleased with the end result.  But I doubt I would have been pleased if I’d used the Insuladd in the paint.

This product would apply well in basement areas, porch additions, and outlying buildings, like garages-turned-offices, on existing textured surfaces.  I would imagine the granules would fill the texture.  But for a smooth finished wall, if you’re going to use Insuladd, I would suggest putting it in the primer, and using a self-leveling paint over it.

Does it work to insulate?  I can’t provide actual data.  It seems more comfortable in the room.  It seems quieter, less drafty in there.  The room is above the family room, which has its own set of draft/insulation issues, some of which affected the upstairs.  Before painting the bedroom, it would be incredibly drafty in the cold months, and stifling hot in mid-summer.  I used the product in the comfort of fall, and it’s been a mild winter so far, so my information is all relative.  But I don’t feel the big drafts, and the walls seem warmer.  My feet are certainly more comfortable these day.

I guess time and gas/electric bills will tell for sure, but I believe it has made a difference.  Remember, though, that I only used it in the primer on the two outside walls.  I’ve already painted every room but one in this house, and I don’t want to start over again any time soon.  But as I do, or if I have repair projects requiring repainting, I will use Insuladd for ceilings and outside walls.

Have you used this product?  What has been your experience?  If you’ve used it in a sprayer, how did that work for you?  Do tell.

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

