$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 51

I’m on a mission this year: spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four! After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010. With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

This week I did not grocery shop.  DH got two gallons of milk (1.79 each at Aldi = 3.58).

This puts me at $540.83 UNDER budget for the year!   That’s about $10.60 average per week under budget.

I did not need to shop.  I did not have time to shop.  I did not have the energy to deal with traffic to get me to shop.  No shopping.

Next week, I will shop, but after the necessaries for New Year’s, I will be only deal-scrounging.  End of the month clearances, in particular, will find homes in my freezer and pantry.

I’m currently evaluating this budget, and thinking of lowering it for next year.  We don’t know what grocery prices will do next year.  My travel patterns will certainly change in May, taking me away from my regular stores on a regular basis.  I will need to hone new skills, to set new habits, to *gasp* change things.  Eh, okay.  It’ll be a big year for change, anyway.

Next week I’ll post the final entry for this series.  I’d love to know how you did with your grocery budget for the year.  Did you keep within your goals?  Did you have to look up “budget” in the dictionary?  Did you totally give up (I hope not!)?  Did you totally save big bucks?  Let us know.  It’s by sharing that we help each other.

3 thoughts on “$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 51

  1. I’m not a fan of bulk buying. I can find super deals, often free or cheap, with coupons and sales. Multiple coupons will let you stock up. It might take a few months of learning the ropes, but you’ll soon be expert at deal finding and knowing which products are really good buys for your family.

    Like

  2. I am still amazed by your budget!
    What grocery deals will be out at the end of the year or beginning of the year? I’m new to this =)
    I have only been budget planning since beginng of Dec. We realized we were averaging about $330 a week (food/paper products etc)…for the month of December, I have gotten us to around $230/week average. I am hoping to get it closer to $200/wk in January.
    We did bulk buy some things this month so that took us over, as well as buying a few things for a holiday meal =)
    Looking forward to learning new tricks from you! =)

    Like

    • Hi, Anna! Look for lots of clearance deals at the end of each month, particularly at Target. Right now, while supplies last, you can get Farmland spiral sliced hams for .99/# @ NoFrills! Keep checking the weekly ad deals posts, and you’ll start to see patterns in how things work out. Also, take a look at Local Grocery Basics. See you here!

      Like

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

