$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 48

I’m on a mission this year: spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four! After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010. With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

This week has been challenging physically and mentally, so I am pretty proud that we were able to avoid Papa Murphy’s Pizza, and stick with the dinner menu plan, and therefore the grocery plan.  I found time to compare and PM, too, although not on my regular schedule, so of course I forgot stuff, but all is well.  Because I went to Aldi at the beginning and at the end of the week, it skewed my numbers.  Still, I’m well below my budget for the year!  I really have to be careful with the deals, because my freezer is quite full with The Cookies.  Another week and a half, and I’ll be putting those water jugs back in there, because it’ll seem empty.

This week for just food I spent $88.19, which included two “weekly trips” to Aldi!  This puts me at $443.73 UNDER budget for the year!   Here’s where my dollars went:

Aldi:  I made two trips: one last Sunday to get groceries for the upcoming week, and one Saturday for the next week.  Red and green frosting are 1.19 each, which I am using to decorate The Cookies the easy way.  Replenished some “out of” stuff.  Lunch stuff, and of course, a total of 6 gallons of milk between the two trips, still 1.79/gallon.  Total for food:  45.73 (remember, that’s really two weeks’ worth)

NoFrills:  This is when my back nearly went out on me.  Too much strain, not enough ibuprofen.  But I did get through it (unfortunately I was distracted by the pain and forgot a few things).  I also left my notebook in the cart, which fortunately someone turned in — thank you!  Lunch stuff, including Banquet meals for .47 each after PM, store and manuf coupons.  Shredded cheese $1, OF 34 oz coffee PM – Q = 3.95!  Also did the ConAgra mix/match $2 store coupon with manuf coupons for Cheapies.  Total for food:  29.66

BagNSave:  I had to get eggs and a few other things that got overlooked. Curley’s bbq quick sale at 4.95 – $1 coupon for dinner plus a lunch.  California Pizza Kitchen individuals for 2.50 – $1/any = 1.50 for lunches.  OF Break N Bake cookie dough (what, who, me?) 1.50 – .40 coupon = 1.10 for 2 dozen choc chips that I didn’t have to mix!  Total for food:  11.81

Target:  5# potatoes .99!!

So alright.  I’m hoping to spend less than $50 next week.  It could happen.

2 thoughts on “$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 48

    • Welcome, Anna. Thanks. Wish I could do better, but with a hollow-legged teen-man, and an up and coming tween, it’s really a stretch. Saw your situation on the other post. Give me a while, and I’ll see what I can offer in way of tips.

      Like

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

