What is Cheap Thrills Doing This Weekend? — Fall Maintenance Edition

My thumb is feeling much better, thankyouverymuch.  I’m still sporting a bandage and non-adhesive wrap, just for protection.  The PA said if I bump it good, that could, mmm, “impede healing.”  We don’t want that.  I have a little phantom pain at night, but I think I’m ready to get back to the projects I was doing when the “unfortunate incident” occurred.

Time to get the house ready for cold weather, and finish up the warm-weather stuff.  That includes stopping drafts, and finishing the painting.  I’ve addressed the pipe-freezing already/finally, and primed, so that’s done.

Last week I was up to putting rubber gaskets back on the bottoms of the garage doors.  I called the manufacturer of the gasket kit, and after a quick check was informed that the included fasteners are not galvanized.  That doesn’t make sense, but I got a box of galvanized ones for about $1.50.  So this weekend I plan to finish painting those garage doors when it warms up.  Last week’s rain showed me how a fresh paint job will let the water bead off, but the old (cheap) stuff lets it just sit there.  I’m using the last of the Sherwin Williams house paint, and this should be the last of the exterior painting!

I’m finishing installing hardware cloth between the fence pickets to keep the rabbits from running rampant between our yard and the neighbors’.  Then I can add one last bag of mulch along the fence, and maybe chain saw down the last bush that still stands mocking me.  No, I am not afraid of a little electric tool.

As you can see, we’re rushing to prepare for winter.  Part of that is having the heating system checked out by a professional.  Might I suggest a maintenance contract?  For less than $200, you can have a contract with a company that gives you a free heating inspection in the fall, a free A/C inspection in the spring, and preferential scheduling and rates if something arises during the year.  Don’t skip a heating inspection!  One year we discovered a cracked heat exchanger, producing carbon monoxide, which likely saved our lives.  If your heating/AC system is more than 15 years old, consider getting a whole new system.  OPPD is offering reduced rates and energy credits if you do it soon. 

What are you doing to get your home ready for winter?

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

