600 Cookies!

Oh, yes, The Cookies.  #1 attends a very small school, and they rely on parent volunteers for most things.  I signed up to make cookies for the Christmas concert.  When I contacted the music director to find out how many they were going to need, I guess I gave the unfortunate impression that I could be making all of them — all 600.  That’s 50 dozen!  Well, okay, then.

I’m not a baker.  I try, but often flop.  Just last night I tried to make brownie cups.  I followed the directions perfectly, but mine wouldn’t come out of the pan nicely, so I had to save them for the family and, at 9pm, bake up 2 dozen cookies instead of the cute little bites I’d planned for this luncheon.  They’ll eat them; they’ll be happy.  But I know.

You see, then, that The Cookies will be a labor of love.  I’ve marked my calendar with “3 dozen” on various days so that by the concert I will have 50 dozen cooled and decorated cookies of various sorts to offer.  “Special room in Heaven.  Special room in Heaven.  Special  room in Heaven.”  (Probably a kitchen.)  

Three dozen twice per week, while the oven’s still hot from dinner, is doable.  It’s gonna have to be.  I have some easy-peasy recipes, and for the ones that haven’t turned out quite right, I’m making glazes to drizzle over them.  I prefer to think of this as frugally making do, rather than cheating.

Thus far I’ve planned and/or made: sugar drop cookies, chocolate chip cookies, oatmeal, oatmeal chocolate chip, these brownie cookies  (ETA 11/1/10:  these brownie cookies are AWESOME!) because I have lots of boxes of almost free brownie mix, and my favorite Roll Out Cookies in very simple shapes with on-hand colored sugars and sprinkles on top.  I am taking advantage of some sales w/coupons on mixes because much of my baking will be done in the evenings, and it’ll be easier to not have to measure.  The fancier ones I’ll make on weekends.

So here’s my request: 

Do you have a cheap, easy, few-ingredient cookie recipe to share?  I plan to make 3-4 dozen at a time, and can adjust the recipe if I have to.  Also, if you have a Tried And True glaze recipe, please share!  The faster/easier, the better!

Thanks for your moral support, and any recipes you can point me to!  I’m choosing to think of this exercise as practice.  I should be pretty good by the end of December, when I get to make another 6 dozen for a Santa party.

5 thoughts on “600 Cookies!

  1. Lisa,
    Here’s a great, easy cookie recipe for peanut butter cookies:

    1 cup peanut butter
    1 cup sugar
    1 egg
    1 tsp vanilla

    combine all ingredients together.
    place tablespoons onto greased cookie sheet.
    bake 12-15 minutes at 350

    Enjoy 🙂
    Dawn

    Like

  2. A great and cheap icing recipe from all recipes.

    1 cup confectioners’ sugar
    2 teaspoons milk
    2 teaspoons light corn syrup
    1/4 teaspoon almond extract
    assorted food coloring

    this is enough to cover about a dozen cookies, if its too thick add more corn syrup. If you color the icing it dries the same color, really bright and pretty.

    Like

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

