$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 40

I’m on a mission this year: spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four! After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010. With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

So. Many. Deals!  I love PMing at NF, and save sooo much doing that.  I hope you’ve been able to take advantage of the PM policy there, too.  I know some of you have had troubles, but I haven’t, and my regular cashiers think it’s great, too.  And the OF coupons are stacking nicely with PM ad prices, too. 

I also found some wonderful clearance deals at Bakers (120/Center).  Wish I could fly in there more often, but it always takes a long time (kind of congested in and outside the store).

This week for just food I spent $56.76, about 2/3 of my weekly budget.  This puts me at $378.08 under budget for the year!   Here’s where my dollars went:

No Frills:  Sunbelt granola bars 1.67 BOGO; OF coffee 4.43; OF noodles 1.23.  Now that I look at the receipt, there’s something amiss.  I need to pay better attention!  Total for food:  25.35

BagNSave:  SCORE ON STRING CHEESE!  Manager special at 156/Blondo: giant bags of OF string cheese 1.99 – $1/2 OF coupon = 1.49 each; OF bagels .99; CHOCOLATE .39 each.  Total for food:  8.11

Aldi:  Milk 1.79 (broken record, broken record); tortilla chips .99 big bag; romaine hearts 2.49/3 meals; oat bran bread 1.19/loaf.  Total  for food:  16.74

Baker’s:  DelMonte can pears clearanced to .69 – $1/5 insert coupon = .49 each; Crest toothpaste clearanced to 1.19 – .50 insert coupons = .69 each; Uncle Ben’s flavored whole grain white rice 1.50 – BOGOF – .75 insert coupon = 2/.75.  Total for food: 6.56

 So, I’m nearly $400 under food budget for the year.  Where goes this money?  $50 has gone to a family membership to SASMuseum.  The rest went to hotel for our return trip to Mt. Rushmore a few weeks ago (we finally got to see the faces!).  So the savings from here on out (12 more weeks this year) will go toward Christmas gifts.  We budget for that, too, but this will allow me to get a few extra special things.  Or maybe some drinks for a Christmas open house (treats are always abundant). 

If I can spend less than $60/week, that’ll go a long way toward saving, and I’ll know what my 2011 weekly budget will be!

2 thoughts on “$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 40

  1. Thanks for all your tips on saving, I’m learning lots from reading your blog and pass on area event deals to our homeschool group (thanks for the Joselyn heads up!).
    Just wanted to comment here with you mentioning you are adjusting your weeklly grocery budget down. Before this year, I always shopped exclusively at Aldis. When I started there 15 years ago (we only had 2 kids then), I only took $45 in cash with me, because we were on a very tight budget. Over time and after they started accepting bank card payment, the spending crept up to over $80 occasionally, averaging $65 a week. Couponing this year has lowered this to $50 (with lots in the stockpile). It is my hope that next year we will spend $45 a week again or less? (with 3 kids at home now).

    Like

    • Welcome, and Wow, Nadine! That is awesome! I know about the creeping budget, too; that’s why I tried to go to cash this year. Alas, I have resorted to credit (gasp!) when at Target when I didn’t have cash for the week yet and was making other purchases, too. “Bad CT.” How easily we fall out of habits and into other ones. Glad you’re enjoying Cheap Thrills, and thanks!

      Like

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

