$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 34

I’m on a mission this year: spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four! After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010. With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

Another late post.  Forgive my tardiness.  Between the kids’ schedules (YES, I’m blaming them!), and my temping, it’s been kinda sorta crazy-ish.  Then there was the cookie-making for Laura’s coupon class, and I’m over the edge with projects!  Again, we survived! 

But you know what?  This is what keeping within a budget is for.  It’s easy to get distracted and harried and not pay attention.  Concentrating on that budget is keeping focused, at least on one part of Life, and staying disciplined.

This week for just food I spent $58.94  — stunningly below my weekly budget, I must say!  This puts me at $261.12 under budget for the year! I started weekly trips to Target again, and was Thrilled to find some great deals!  With freezers and pantries abundantly usable, I can skip some purchases if they’re not Cheap Thrills.  More sporadic chunks of time, but more solid dinner planning helped keep this household budget under control.  Here’s where my food money went:

Target:  I made two trips to Target this week.  The first one cost me 2.01.  The second, 3.72 after adjustment for a Muir Glen overcharge (shelf price said 1.39, but it rang up 3.77).  I was a shopping machine, getting only the best of deals, and some FREEs.  Total for food: 5.73

BagNSave:  Chicken, chicken, chicken!  At .98/#, I couldn’t NOT stock up!  Old Orchard juices for .38, too.  .19 mac/cheese for Project Hope, 1.50 Orowheat breads, $1 cheese singles.  Total for food:  17.83

Aldi:  Gallon milk still 1.79.  Applesauce 6-packs for lunches .99.  Whole salmon filet 5.99.  Total for food:  13.60

NoFrills:  More chicken!  We’ll be clucking soon.  Smart Chicken drums .99/#.  Our Fam cereals $1 each.  Kikkoman teriyaki sauce 1.78 – $1 MQ = .78.  Fisher peanuts PM 1.87 – $1 coupons = .87!  Our Fam butter quarters PM 1.97 – .40 OF Qs = 1.57!  Our Fam yogurt .25.  Total for food:  21.78

We’re eating more.  These new activities and schedules are increasing our appetites.  Unfortunately for me, that’s not so much a good thing.  But I am so glad I’m able to keep within the budget and still feed hungry campers (literally campers), including a 15-year-old eating machine.  Very blessed are we.

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

