$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 27

I’m on a mission this year: spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four! After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010. With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

It’s nice to have a fully-functioning fridge again.  And nice to get good dairy deals, too.  I was able to make one stop for milk gallons this week, instead of several daily runs, and all is well with the grocery world.  There were so many deals to take advantage of this week, and still me with my $80 budget.

This week for just food I spent $83.81  — just a tiny bit over my weekly budget.  This puts me at $257.04 under budget for the year!  So many sales, so little budget!  A chunk went to a 4th of July outing: sodas, potato salad, etc.  The bulk went toward stocking back up, and milk.  And I tried a new product this week.  Here’s where my dollars went:

Aldi:  Same ole staples here, plus the new product.  I’ve been craving smoothies lately, and I’m tired of the dark berries in my freezer.  I found a frozen “fiesta blend” fruit mix for 3.49 that is really tasty: mango, papaya, pineapple, strawberries; we blended about 1/3 of it with 1.5 cups skim milk for a great treat, much like a Blizzard, I thought.  Milks are still 1.79, and oat bran bread is still 1.19.

Bag N Save:  Lots of junk this week: sodas, chips, deli potato salad (but really good), plus some staples.

No Frills:  Lovin’ the price matching!  I matched to their own store ad, even.  For some reason I’m getting the Elkhorn-only ads in my Wednesday food section, but the 132 store has different posted prices, so I have to PM.  I also got a mailer flyer from a friend who lives out that way.  3# IQF chicken 3.99, 34 oz coffee 3.88, ice cream 1.68/half gallon, 10# potatoes .99.  Also, Banquet family entrees 1.61 each after coupon, OF 3-pack popcorn .88 each, Honey Nut Cheerios .49 after $1 coupon, and Chicken of the Sea tuna .37 PM’d. 

My freezers are full, my fridge is functional again, and my pantries are usable (eh, they usually are).  I’m due for a nice grocery trip to Target soon, and I hope to catch some BTS supply deals, too.  This is my last week at my current job (it’s time to go) before I start temping again.  Honestly, I hope to have a few days off, finally, to catch up and catch my breath.  I’ve been thinking about cooking for others again, and that may happen this fall, which will mean lots of taste-testing, which the fam loves.

What were your grocery deals this week?

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!