$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 25

I’m on a mission this year: spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four! After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010. With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

It’s hard to stock up on good deals when your refrigerator is misbehaving.  Such good deals on eggs, cheeses, and lunchmeats.  Ah, well, another day.  Plus, it helped me stay well below my budget this week.  The kicker is that I had to buy new milk every day, b/c we couldn’t keep the fridge cold enough to be sure more than one would last.  Not such a hassle, since I pass at least one grocery store twice per day.  But not getting a sale, well, that just hurts my heart.  A few days I did get a half gallon for $1, though.

Last week for just food I spent $43.49  — about half of my weekly budget.  This puts me at $236.16 under budget for the year!  Some of this week’s purchases were just good deals for the 4th of July weekend.  And some of this budget included bags of ice, unfortunately, before I realized I had jugs of ice in the freezer.  Here’s some of what I got last week:

BagNSave:  Milk, tortillas.  Total 3.02.

Baker’s:  Milk, ice.  Total 3.58.

No Frills:  Ice, staples and produce, cut up fryer on quick sale for .99/# for holiday picnic.  With the Our Family items $3off5 coupon, I got ice cream cones for .28, lasagna noodles for 1.03, and FREE canned vegs.  I also PM’d big pails of ice cream for 2.95 (BnS) and used .50 coupons on those.  Total 24.57.

Aldi:  A couple stops for milks, more holiday fixin’s, chips, cheese, CHOCOLATE.  Total 12.32.

The fix is done on the fridge; I’ll have to wait a full 24 hours before I’m certain the issue doesn’t also involve a thermometer or something.  But hopefully I can stock up on dairy deals again this week.

What were your great grocery deals this week?

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

