$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 24

I’m on a mission this year: spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four! After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010. With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

Cutting back this week was a breeze.  I had some freezer and pantry stock, and a little time for creativity.  And, knowing I had to cut down again, I was up for the challenge.  I got the basics, and made do.  I had the fixin’s for Father’s Day grillage, so that wasn’t a worry.

Last week for just food I spent $29.40  — amazingly one third of my weekly budget!  This puts me at $199.65 under budget for the year!   I can’t believe it, either.  I wasn’t trying that hard, and just picked up what we needed.  Because we had contractors for a few days, I had to fit a lot into my available time, and I went with the list, and only the list.  So cash was saved.  Here’s where I spent my dollar this week:

Aldi:  I spent 18.96 on milks (still 1.79/gal), bread, produce, and some healthy snacks for the boys.

BagNSave:  $10.44 got me some bottled juice (Old Orchard .88), produce, eggs and soda. 

“So,” you say, “those aren’t substantially nutritious groceries.”  Well, much of it was.  Snacks were nuts, popcorn and juice.  The soda 12-pack will probably last us the entire summer.  I got it because it was a great deal and it’s nice to have on-hand during the hot summer months. 

How are YOU doing with your grocery budget this year?

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

