$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 22

I’m on a mission this year: spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four! After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010. With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

School’s out, and our schedules have loosened up a bit.  The shift from the regular routine is welcome, but requires a little more effort to combine my errands, because I’m not always going past my usual stores.  But it also gives me leeway to stop at another store that has great meat markdowns, and I did stock up this week.  Except for the fact that I’m craving pork barbecue and haven’t found a suitable deal lately, I’ve got the freezers well stocked with grillables for most of the summer.  That feels good. 

 Last week for just food I spent $79.80  — a squeak under my weekly budget.  This puts me at $138.19 under budget for the year!  It feels good to be back financially.  I never realized until recently how stress can affect spending and finance management.  Here’s where else I spent my cash this week:

Target:  I spent 11.54 on deals, including: Snyders pretzels big bag of big twists 2.29 – .50 Target coupon – 1.00 insert coupon = .79; Hebrew National beef franks 3.49 – 1.50 Target coupon – $1 insert coupon = .99; Ken’s salad dressing 1.56 clearance – $1 insert coupon = .56; sweet corn on the cob .10/ear (yeah, I know, it’s not local, but it was really good).

Aldi:  I spent 12.07.  Eggs were up to .84 this week (.05 increase), milk still 1.79, cauliflower looked really good at 1.39/head, and Splash juice was down to 1.69.  But can you believe they were OUT of the Choceur dark CHOCOLATE bars?!  And there was another woman more distressed than me.  Thank goodness I had a spare hidden away for just such an emergency.

BagNSave:  I spent just 9.97 at BnS this week.  I used the mailer coupon for .69 Sunny D; got Reser potato and macaroni salads for 1.25 – $1/2 insert coupon = .75 each; kiwi fruit .33 each is nice this time of year; and the shredded cheeses for .95 (I already have a freezer full, but got a few to get me through the week).

Baker’s:  Yes!  I stopped at Baker’s this week, because my schedule now allows me to stop in when it’s convenient for me, avoiding the crowds, and on the way home to the fridge and freezer.  I spent the bulk of my budget (47.45) here this week, on meats, mostly, priced for quick sale but still fresh.  There were some nice steaks and ground turkey breast that got repacked and sent to the freezer for grilling joy later this month.

I found myself buying more whole foods this week, and getting just a few processed items as special treats for very little.  I’m really hoping the stormy, wet weather is done and we’ll see some good veg prices soon.  The corn at .10 was a nice surprise, but there’s nothing like local produce.  I did find a giant bunch of nice, dark romaine for 1.49 this week, and we do make good use of that.  Let us know your best produce finds in the Omaha area!

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

