Weekly Dinner Deal — 4/12-4/18/10

So I was back on Phase I of the Curves eating plan again this week.  This affected our meals only slightly.  I make protein and vegs for dinner and add a starch/carb for the guys, and it works well for everyone.  The rest of the day, I eat the way I need to, and it doesn’t affect them.  Win, win.

I use the first plan, because that’s how I lost the 25 lbs a few years back.  They’ve taken the latest research and finessed the plan to the eating habits of today’s women, and formulated a new plan called the Curves Weight Management Plan.  It’s the best one for those who incorporate prepared and restaurant foods into their eating, and follows the same ideas as the original plan.  I like the simplicity and freshness of whole foods, so this way works great for us. 

With the processed foods shoved aside and/or tossed (shh!), I made meals like our Weekly Dinner Deal in a flash, and with the nutrition and substance we needed.  We had Oven-Cooked Chicken Breasts, Pan-Grilled Zuchinni, Mashed Cauliflower, and Italian bread for the guys.

The chicken breasts were thawed and went into a 9 x 13 baking dish, sprinkled with the last of my Mrs. Dash.  A large zuchinni was sliced and cooked in a non-stick grill pan with a sparse drizzle of olive oil and s&p.  Half of a cauliflower was cut up, boiled, then mashed.  Half a loaf of Italian bread was thawed and sliced for the guys.

Chicken breasts 2.55

Zuchinni .43

Cauliflower 1.70

Bread .50

Milk for three .30

Total for the meal:  $4.47

This was a filling and tasty meal, with extra vegs for me.  I lost 3.5 pounds last week, and hope to continue with 1-2 pounds till I rid myself of that final 10.  Wish me luck!

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

