$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 12

I’m on a mission this year:  spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four!  After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010.  With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

I stayed well within my food budget this week!  And that included the Easter ham.  I still have to get a $1.99 refund for an overcharge (figured in), but I will fare very well.  I was able to find pretty much all I needed in advertised specials, plus get my regular items at Aldi (milk, bread, produce).

The only thing not on my list that made its way to my cart was the lime at No Frills.  And since the canned vegs were less than advertised, I got a few extras of green beans for my stash.

I also was able to purchase several cans of vegs and fruit for the food pantry.  Since where I work and where I worship are both having food drives, and since I’ve contributed to both already, I’ll send a little more each way, and save some for Scouting for Food in April.  It’ll all get where it needs to go!

This week for just food I spent $67.11 — well under my $80 budget.  (This puts me at $106.50 under budget for the year!)  I’m so impressed that I’ve been able to do this.  This is a good challenge, and I am definitely accomplishing what I’ve set out to do.

So now we’re about one quarter through the “new” year.  If I continue to stay below budget for the rest of the year, that’ll be $400-$500 additional this year that we haven’t spent on food.  Can I save more?  YES!  Now that my pantries and freezers are quite full, I will have to use restraint with respect to loss leaders.  It’s an opportunity to become even more frugal, even more savvy, with my grocery purchases.  My new goal is to save $750 or more of my food budget this year.

Who’s with me?!

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

