$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 11

I’m on a mission this year:  spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four!  After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010.  With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve recently discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

I hit a lot of stores this week.  My original plan was snafu-ed due to campout food duties (the campout then got cancelled), and then there were weather issues.  So today (Saturday) I finished up bargain-getting.  Here’s the rundown:

BagNSave:  In addition to advertised specials:  Store 1:  pork loin chops, 1.95.  Store 2:  Dole pulp free oj marked to 1.19; Activia 4-pk 1.98 – $1 coupon; romaine lettuce just 1.99; Earthgrains thin buns 2.49 – .55 coupon; Chex mix 1.50 – .50 coupon; Nestle Crunch bars .45 – bogo coupon; cayenne pepper to keep the rabbits out of the flower beds. 

Aldi:  Milks are still 1.79; basics plus: boneess beef eye round for one meal 2.45; beef stew meat for a huge Crock Pot 2.84; sirloin tip steak for the grill and extra lunches 3.95.

No Frills:  In addition to advertised specials:  Old Orchard frozen juices .91 – $1/3 coupons in the aisle; Land O Frost turkey for sammies 2.99 – .60 peelie; DiGiorno cheese pizzas 5.98 – $1 coupons in the aisle; more Earthgrains thin buns 2.48 – .55 coupon.

SuperSaver:  In addition to advertised specials:  Kraft bbq sauce .88 – .25 peelies; Planters were 1.98 (not 2.48) – $1/2 peelies; StoveTop stuffing .48; shelf coupon $2 on Hormel real bacon packets (2.98) wyb any bagged salad (.99); Act II popcorn 1.25 – .40 coupon; Kraft 10 oz chocolate swirl marshmallows .50 (also strawberry).  I also saw but did not get whole young turkeys for .78/#.  The Best Choice sunscreen is 3.97 for the spf 45 – $2 web coupon.  The JollyTime 6-pk is 2.68 – $1 web coupon.

Target:  I was very disappointed in my regular Target this week; they did not refill the shelves with ad items, and they are doing that more and more often.  Since I went to Millard Saturday, I hit the Target on L Street.  In addition to the Kellogg’s $5 gc deal, I was able to use a $5 wyb $50 mailer coupon!  I also finally got the Ronzoni Smart Taste 1.16 – .75 coupons; Olay and CoverGirl products w/coupons (not included in food); more DiGiorno pizza 4.50 – $1 Target coupon; California Pizza Kitchen 4.99 – $1 Target coupon; Hormel Always Tender bl pork ribs (supposedly) 1.49/# – $1 manuf coupon – $1 package peelie.  While I am impressed with the shelf stock at the L Street store, I think I got ripped off on the meat.  It’s a long way to get a refund, so I’ll live with lesson learned.

Baker’s:  I had a long list of sale items, but just wasn’t impressed once I got in the store.  I did get the new Hidden Valley dressing on sale 3.39 – $2 coupon; Ken’s dressing 1.99 – $1 coupon; Yoplait yogurt parfaits $2 – $1 coupon. 

This week for just food I spent $140.94 — way too much, it would seem.  However!  Keep in mind I was $154.55 under budget for the year!  (This puts me at still $93.61 under budget for the year.)  I did get some things for the food drives, and I did find some incredible deals for the freezer.  Next week will be a low-spend week for me.

Distractions proved to be my downfall this week.  At SuperSaver, I scooted out without using $8 in coupons!  Fortunately, I caught the manager at the door, and he let me get cash back.  At Target, I lost track of the cashier’s scanning and paid an extra $2-3 on an item.  Drat!

How’d you do?

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

