$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 6

I’m on a mission this year:  spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four!  After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010.  With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve recently discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!”

So many bargains this week!  I picked up several multiples, including lots of bananas (because we’ve been going through them pretty healthfully).  Here’s an overview of what I got:

BagNSave:  I got the Post cereals for 1.49 – coupons.  When I went to get the 90% lean ground beef for 1.98/#, I found them putting out newly-marked-down packages of the same for 1.79/# — Yes!  Green onions at .50/bunch and (huge) green peppers at .77 each were some of the thriftiest buys, which I was able to use in a variety of dishes this week (and froze extra sliced green peppers for more fajitas later).  I also picked up a big bagful of mac n cheese boxes for Project Hope for .19 each.

Target:  Total on previously posted grocery only: $10.10.

Aldi:  Basics, milks (still at 1.79/gal.), same ole.  I did check out the Super Cooker, and it does look really cool.

 NoFrills: I didn’t get to NF until Saturday, because of the Friday day off of school.  I’m glad I tried it again, even though I was hesitant (but I wanted some of these deals!).  Now that the grand opening dust has settled at 132/Center, there were fewer shoppers, and few construction obstructions.  Of course, everyone was at the mall of their choice today finishing Valentine’s Day shopping.  Act II popcorn for .48/box with $1/2 coupon found inside a Banquet dinner that #1 brought home from his lunch (:gasp!:).  Canned green beans, a favorite here, were just .40 each.  And IQF chicken breasts were just 1.67/# purchased in bags of 3#/4.99 (got several).  My favorite non-food deal here way Dayquil for 3.99 less 1.50 coupon, and a welcome purchase it was this week!  But the best deal has to be Our Family detergent 1.98 – $1 web coupons.

This week for food I spent $67.53, which is totally acceptable and within my $80 budget(Running total = $78.05 under budget for the year.)   I need to tighten up my spending a bit.  This is nothing to sneeze at, of course, but I was finding better deals in January.  I’m sure they’re still there; I just have to find them.  And now that the hub-bub of basketball is over, there’ll be more thought going into our meals.  So I expect to see my total drop, unless, of course, there are some more great deals.

Please post a comment about your grocery budget.  What is it?  How do you stay within it?

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

