$80 Per Week in 2010 — Week 2

I’m on a mission this year:  spend $80 or less per week on groceries for my family of four!  After reconciling all our expenses for 2009, all the while remembering the splurges during a special family celebration and replenishing of food storage, I realized I could and would do better in 2010.  With the skills I’ve obtained, and the deals on some web sites I’ve recently discovered, “I hereby pledge to lower my food budget this year!” 

 

This is the week I prove myself.  I need to replenish some staples, and find some protein deals.  I’ve seen what’s a deal in the stores, and although I’d like to take advantage of many of the prices and coupon combos, I’m just not doing every deal. 

My big deal of the week is the NoFrills beef roast with FREE stuff!  Buy a 3# boneless bottom round roast (very lean), get FREE: 5# bag russets, AND 3#  bag yellow onions, AND 1# bag carrots, AND 6-ct dinner rolls (I found cracked wheat, still warm from the oven)!  (You need the ad coupon for this deal; they had extras and a recipe by the meat at 132/Center.)  The roast is 2.99/#, so make sure you get one at least 3.35#, so you can also get….1# bananas FREE w/ $10 purchase! (You need the other ad coupon for this, too, which I did not see lying about.)  This is enough beef for at least two meals  for us, with maybe a little extra to toss into a soup or chili; the vegs will definitely get stretched into other meals, too.  BIG SCORE!  Thank you, No Frills, for this wonderful deal!

I also hit the double coupon days at HyVee on Tuesday, but wasn’t able to frugally use the ten allowed.  I got a few things, mostly pantry items to pull out in fast-dinner emergencies.

Other deals I got include some very reasonable GF cereal and FREE bacon at NoFrills; the Farmland bacon is on sale for .98, and I had a $1 any Farmland product MQ.  Cool surprise!  At BagNSave I snagged Pillsb rolled pie crusts for .99 (less coupon/2), Pillsb crescents .99 (less coupons), tuna for .49, and Birds Eye regular frozen and Steamfresh peas for .88 (less coupons!).

This week I spent $56.57 of my $80 budget, leaving me with $23.43 to add to last week’s surplus.  (Running total = $35.42 under budget.)  I may need to adjust my budget DOWN!  Remember, this only includes food for at-home and taken lunch meals, and snacks.  Not potluck contributions.  Not toothpaste.  Not foil or plastic wrap.  Just food. 

I’m finding it very difficult to keep us in milk.  I hoped when the boys returned to school after umpteen-zillion snow days and an extended holiday vaca, that the milk consumption would return to “normal.”  It hasn’t.  I bought a gallon of milk at Aldi on Tuesday afternoon, and it was nearly empty Wednesday evening!  Three servings — EIGHT OUNCE servings — along with yogurt, cheese and eggs, I repeat.  It must be a guy thing.  Normally, I would say, “You drained it, that’s it!”  Except that I simply cannot live without skim in my coffee, and I MUST have my coffee every morning.

Some non-grocery deals I still plan to get this week included an incredible deal on All brand detergent from SuperSaver ad (PMd at Target, b/c SS is just too far).  Thirty-two ounces for 2.76, less $3/2 coupons, makes 1.26 each!

Oh, and I couldn’t find the old wallet; I think I garage saled it.  Anyway, I have a roomier envie, and it seems to be working for now.  I have noticed the cashiers are rolling their eyes when I pull out cash.  Interesting.  I thought the eye-rolling was saved for when I wrote checks.  Hmm.

Share your thoughts, ideas and comments!

